Earth Tremor

Just before 1 am today there was an earth tremor which is believed to have been centred in the Kingston Upon Hull area, measuring 4.7 on the Richter Scale.

I was woken very suddenly as there seemed to be a noise. Then the shaking began. It didn’t last more than maybe 15 seconds, but it seemed to me to be going on and on. I never realised that my house had so much about it to rattle.

When it was over, I could hear my house creaking which slowly died away, as if it were settling down again.

I’m not ashamed to say that I was petrified. Fortunately my phone was beside me and I was able to phone my partner in Coventry. He to was awake, having also felt his bed shaking, although it doesn’t seem to have been so bad there.

Once I was calm again I came downstairs to see if Jade was OK. She seems to have slept through it all!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

