Why do motorists have to be so stupid?

I try very hard to be tollerant of sighted people, and to realise that they don’t necessarily know the first thing about blindness, but just lately, the local motorists have been doing my head in. I’ve been wanting to blog this for a while and kept putting it to the back of my mind as it makes me sound like a Victor Meldrew character, but enough’s enough!

A lot of the roads in the vicinity of my house are fairly busy without designated crossing points, so crossing is always a bit of a lottery! I haven’t been hit yet though!

A lot of motorists, when they see me waiting, slow right down and I think they’re going to stop. No such luck. They’re obviously slowing, just in case I try to walk out in front of them. However, they have no intention of actually stopping and letting me cross as they speed up when they get almost level with me.

For god’s sake, if you’re driving, please either stop and let me cross, or keep going so that you don’t cause a great queue of traffic to back up behind you! Use your heads and stop wasting my time!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do motorists have to be so stupid?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Your musings
    This is the first time I am visiting Nottingham and I am here only for 3 weeks. While looking for information on Nottingham, I chanced upon your musings. Could not agree more on several of your observations in this blog. It was very insensitive for the restaurant to stop your guide dog and you from entering their premises. It is good that they at least have acknowledged their mistake.
    I have lived mostly in US and India. I think US is much more sensitive and advanced when it comes to caring for any disability. I don’t find the similar things in Nottingham. for low rise buildings, I find there are no elevators, one has to negotiate staircases. On the other hand, India is another extreme – there is no regulation at all. If the same incident (not allowing guide dog) would have happened there, no chance of any apology or monetary return. However, the family support is very strong and that is what helps people going.
    Another thing I find that Nottingham is much more raunchy – US is turning more conservative off late. Not that I mind – just an observation.
    keep on blogging. Maybe I will visit even when I go back.

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Your musings
      Hello, and thanks for your comments. I’m amazed that you found my blog.
      I hope you have an enjoyable time in Nottingham.
      All the best
      Mel

Leave a Reply

