Ripped off by a Major Charity

Once again, I have posted a message to the BBC Ouch message board. To view any responses, go to:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/mbouch/F2322273?thread=4430737&post=51660483#p51660483

The message reads:

A friend of mine is getting married this summer and sent my invitation away to RNIB in order for it to be brailled. I was horrified to learn that she had
been charged £85 for a piece of Braille slightly smaller than an A5 piece of paper. The Braille had obviously been done by hand and cut out by hand but
the whole job would probably have only taken about half an hour.

What’s more, it took RNIB ten weeks to do this invitation and send it back.

Having learnt this, I contacted a friend who runs a transcription service for Sense. Apparently the same job would have cost somewhere in the region of
£6.50 and would have been turned around the same day.

I’m absolutely astounded that a charity such as RNIB can charge individuals such extortionate prices and I’m only sorry that I didn’t know about the service
which Sense provide sooner.

I was informed that the £6.50 quote from Sense would include a substantial proportion of profit for that small job, which means that RNIB are charging
ridiculous amounts, over and above that which they would require to make a profit.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ripped off by a Major Charity

  1. that’s disgusting
    gosh that’s absolutely disgusting and what rip off merchants. i’m sorry your friend got treated that way. hugs.

  2. misterdog says:

    gotta love em
    Well if they are actually a charitable organization, who are their favorite charity? themselves?? The governments are too busy sticking their noses in to your personal business, how many drinks you have or god forbid that you should enjoy a fag… They are so busy with this that usery of other types must be regretably overlooked for the greater good of your health ya understand…

Leave a Reply

