Humanising Dogs

OK, a little rant here. I just hate the way people humanise their animals. For god’s sake, they’re dogs, they’re lovable and they’re important, but do they have to be a child substitute?

According to an itemon the radio this morning, Paris Hilton has a bikini for her dog for the beach. Brittney Spears has taken hers to dancing lessons, and get this! The Beckhams are sending theirs to doggy rehab because t has accidents in the house! Uh? Hello? Try opening the back door and letting it out?

OK, so perhaps this could all be excused as it is going on in America, except that when I was in Babbacombe a few weeks ago, we passed an entire shop dedicated to doggy clothing.
One word … sad.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Humanising Dogs

  1. blind_funk says:

    Doggies
    Oh those are extreme cases, though. In California… well, that just sounds like typical California silliness. Most of us in the states treat our pets like pets. Sure, we get attached to our pets, and sometimes overly so. But we don’t usually go nutso.
    But it’s nothing like in parts of Europe where apparently people are allowed to bring their dogs into restaurants. I don’t know how common this is, but my understanding that it’s more common than I realize. I’m not talking just guide dogs either but all dogs.
    Yeah, not only are there sanitation issues, the last thing I’d want to witness is some dog dropping a big steaming load on the floor by my table while I’m chomping on a hamburger or something. Gross!
    But please oh please, don’t believe Paris Hilton and Britney Spears represent the heartland of America because they don’t. Believe me. We are pointing and laughing at them all the time… shaking our heads at their antics. In fact, we pay too much attention to them.

Leave a Reply

