An Excellent Outcome

This week I visited an Indian restaurant with a friend which I had never been to before. We walked in with my guide dog and were immediately challenged. One of the staff said that he could not possibly let us in with a dog. I tried to explain that the Institute of Environmental Health Officers accept assistance dogs into food premises, but he could not be swayed. I was about to start with the Disability Discrimination Act when the manager appeared and told us it was fine for us to have a table.

I was obviously pleased, but slightly apprehensive that we might get grudging service from the people who did not wish to admit us, which has sometimes been the case in the past. However, this could not be further from the truth. The staff were charming, even asking me, rather than my friend, if I would like to taste the wine, which is almost unheard of. When our food arrived they also offered to serve it for me which was done very attractively and unobtrusively. They returned to our table once or twice during the course of the meal to ask if I required more food serving. What’s more, the food was excellent. Slightly more expensive than an average Indian meal, but well worth paying for.
The really good part though was at the end of the evening, just as we were leaving, when the original member of staff approached me and apologised for the earlier misunderstanding. This gave me the opportunity to thank him for his apology and also for such wonderful service.

Its so nice when things work out like that. I have no doubt that I will be welcomed back there in the future.

For anyone interested, the details of the restaurant are as follows:

Bombay Brasserie
39 Plains Rd,
Mapperley,
Nottingham.
Nottinghamshire. NG3 5JU.
Telephone Number: 0115 955 5177

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

