Customer Service from an Amusing Angle

I was just chatting with a colleague who reminded me of a call I made to Virgin Credit Cards a couple of months ago which still amuses us!

The call went something like this.

Mel. Good morning, I’d like to arrange to have my credit card statements sent to me in Braille please.

Operator. Certainly. Have you just moved to Braille?

(confused pause)

Mel. I’m sorry?

Operator. Where abouts in Braille do you live?

At which point I had to explain to the lady what Braille is, she had never heard of it. What’s more, I had to use all my self control to stop myself dissolving into fits of laughter.

In fairness, she was very pleasant about it and transferred me to a colleague who was able to deal with my request straight away.

I expect we’ll dine out on that one for a while though!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Customer Service from an Amusing Angle

  1. mvincent says:

    and here I was thinking braille was a quiet, yet pleasant coastal village. Guess I will have to find some where else, to retire.

  2. Oh, that is absolutely pricelessly hilarious! Right, so now I’ll have to go find an accessible map of the U.S. and see if there’s a nice little place called Braille in some state or other where we can have a nice quiet vacation! I expect the roads will be mighty bumpy though, shame on it.
    BTW, would you mind if I added you to my friendspage on Livejournal. Feel free to add me back if you wish, although I encourage you to look at my interests and read a few posts before you do, just so you know what your’e getting into. I just read down your entries a bit, and I like waht I read, so I figured I’d ask before I just went and friended you without even a word.

Leave a Reply

