Jade

Every 12 to 18 months or so, the Guide dogs for the Blind Association in the UK send out a member of their training staff to observe the Guide Dog Owner and the dog working together to ensure that there are no problems with the work or the dog’s general condition. I’m not normally one for writing gushing reports about Jade as everyone’s dog is always the best in their eyes and it’s not the best read for those who don’t know the dog and are even less interested!

However, on this occasion I feel I must write a little about my visit by a trainer. We walked to a local post office which I had not visited before but needed to find out where it is. Jade worked brilliantly, showing a lot of maturity and conscientiousness and we found the post office with little difficulty.

On our return, the trainer commented that Jade is in excellent condition and is obviously very tuned in to me. She also said that I made guide dog work look very easy.

Jade is a fantastic dog and we have bonded extremely well together. I wasn’t told anything by the trainer which I didn’t already know, but it was very encouraging to hear it from one of the professionals.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

